Saturday, July 26th, 2008

Boy scarred by tragedy becomes a symbol of hope to everyone.

Dreams and myths are constellations of archetypal images.

What then is an archetype? Jung said we have a“preconscious psychic disposition that enables a (man) to react in a human manner.” Archetypes may emerge into consciousness in piles of variations. There are a very few archetypes (about 8) which exist at the unconscious level, but there are an infinite variety of specific images which point back to these few patterns.

Jung found the archetypal patterns and images in every culture and in every time period of human history. They behaved according to the same laws in all cases.We humans do not have separate, personal unconscious minds. The mind is rooted in the unconscious just as a Hickory tree is rooted in the ground. When we have the courage to seek the source to which our mind, will, and emotion belongs, we begin to discover even more universal patterns.

The reality is concealed in the darkness of mystery.

So let me say something; I’m Batman.”

Bookmark and Share
Tuesday, May 13th, 2008

Cartoons and children’s stories explain these best.

Archetypes are based in the observation of differing but repeating patterns of thought and action that re-appear time and again across people, countries and around the world.

Jung’s main archetypes are not ‘types’ in the way that each person may be classified. Rather, we each have all basic archetypes within us. His four main forms of archetypes are: the shadow, the anima, the animus, and the self.

Jung said that there are many archetypes. These are often linked to the main archetypes. They also overlap and many can appear in the same person. Examples are:

Family archetypes

  • The father: Stern, powerful, controlling
  • The mother: Feeding, nurturing, soothing
  • The child: Birth, beginnings, salvation

Story archetypes

  • The hero: Rescuer, champion
  • The maiden: Purity, desire
  • The wise old man: Knowledge, guidance
  • The magician: Mysterious, powerful
  • The earth mother: Nature
  • The witch or sorceress: Dangerous
  • The trickster: Deceiving, hidden

Animal archetypes

  • The faithful dog: Unquestioning loyalty
  • The enduring horse: Never giving up
  • The devious cat: Self-serving

Tonight watching 33 different K- 5 acts at my daughter’s school talent show reminded of the beautiful differences in life. It also made clear what Jung apparently understood when he developed his theory of personality archetypes.

Bookmark and Share